I Say Yes!

I woke up to a

frosty,

foggy,

snow-covered

morning.

It’s a pretty way to wake up…but

The past weeks I have been in quiet mode.

Slow-paced, struggling, searching mode.

I’m struggling to find my way, searching to see what comes next and slowly moving forward although it seems I’m making no progress at all.  Maybe it’s just the holidays take over and life-as-usual ceases to exist for awhile.

Whatever the case I suppose I had to hibernate for a bit. Winter is upon me, the cold freezes my toes, and soggy is not my favorite way to view the world, but it’s reality.  I’m still trying to embrace Winter, but it’s a daily challenge.  I just miss the sun!

To be honest, I am also overwhelmed.

Overwhelmed at the size and scope of life in this huge, whizzing new techno-frontier we are zooming through and towards.  I feel like my life should be amounting to something.  Something meaningful, something interesting. But I feel as though I’ve allowed it to become what it will, instead of what I want it to be.

So 2011 is the year that I change that!

For the first time in my life

I’ve made a few New Year’s Resolutions (NYR’s) that I’m really serious about keeping.  I have never really made it a point to do that…so that’s one first for me. I didn’t make too many because I don’t know if I can do it.

So I started simply, with just a few.

1) Stop Cursing.

That is the first one.  I used to be very dedicated and successful at keeping certain words out of my vocabulary, but the past few years I have noticed I’ve let my guard down and it seems the more I curse, well, the more I curse, and I don’t like it.

I don’t like what it says about me, I don’t like it when I hear other people doing it ( I turned off the movie “Going The Distance” the other night because the content was so crass and the language so foul.).  But I have been doing it anyways.

I think because life has become so frustrating for me, so disappointing, and so stuck.  But the curse words don’t really make anything better. They seem to let off steam at the moment, but then I feel bad.  So I am going to curtail certain words. I dont’ have to do it perfectly, but I am going to become a minimalist cusser! lol

2)  Write daily. 

That’s another one.  My writing is usually so random as far as consistency.  I will write daily for a month and then stop for two.  It’s like I have a child part inside of me, that, at times, absolutely refuses to put pen to paper.  But I enjoy it so much and it drives me crazy when I do that.  So, I’ve taken a different approach. Instead of looking at it like a discipline thing, I am viewing it as an means to an end.  I want to be a better writer in 2011 and that means writing every day.  No shame, no guilt, just my goal.

3)  Be Active Weekly.

This is tough one for me.  I don’t like exercising for the sake of exercising.  I started riding my bike several times a week back in the fall, but then the cold weather hit and stopped me in my proverbial tracks!  Riding in 30 degree weather is basically impossible to get motivated for, I just can’t do it.

So I am hoping to find something inside I can do on the days that I can’t get out.  I wish sitting in my hot tub would suffice, but it doesn’t exactly get my heart rate up!   At any rate, I feel SO much better when I am active in some way.  My brain works better, my mood is better and my creativity is at it’s peak when my blood gets flowing!

4) Get Involved Socially!

This is an area that has been seriously neglected the past four years.  I live in a very rural area and moved away from all my friends and family when I came here.  It’s been easier to just hang out with the family and the critters than to try and develop friendships and get out and meet people.

But it’s not working for me and I’ve decided that has to change!

I emailed a women about helping backstage with a local theater group because it sounds like fun and I’ve always wanted to try theater, but have been to afraid.  So she suggested I start backstage and I thought that was a great idea! So, that is my baby step.

Last night I started a book called “Improv Wisdom”

and she speaks of being a person who says “Yes”!

She gave a quote by Keith Johnstone: “There are people who prefer to say “Yes” and there are people who prefer to say “No”.   Those who say “Yes” are rewarded by the adventures they have, and those who say “No” are rewarded by the safety they attain.”

I am tired of being “safe” and saying “No” because of my cautious side and because of my doubts and fears!

 

So I am going to make 2011 my year of saying “Yes”,

or at least learning to do it much more often.  Won’t you join me?

p.s.  I got affirmation on my “Yes Year” after reading www.farbeyondthestars.com/uncertainty-in-an-accelerating-world-you-cannot-control/, where Everett Bogue interestingly speaks of saying “Yes” as well.  Check it out!

Cheers to having a “Yes Year” and seeing where it will take us!

Kristi

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Kara Gagliano-Scott
    Jan 06, 2011 @ 20:19:20

    very good! love this post! love the goals and enthusiam toward life in general. I come away feeling like these are “core” things…like they may not seem like a big deal in the grand scheme of things but without them, there is no grand scheme. They are structural. Fortifying. Foundational.
    I wish you the best of luck with every endevour! Here’s to 2011 – A YES year, for sure! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

