Embracing Winter

This year I’ve decided to

embrace Winter!

The colder months of the year are always a challenge for me and every year I tend to dread the end of Autumn and the beginning of the cold, dreary days of Winter.

This year I’ve decided to look for the things that I like about the weather being colder and to create rituals or hobbies that help me make the best out of a dreary situation!

Here are a few “Happy Winter Things” I thought of…

  • With all the leaves gone the sunsets create glowing silhouettes with the bare branches of the trees
  • There is no worries about bugs or flying critters that might sting you or land on you
  • At night the stars seem to be extra bright and beautiful against the cold winter sky
  • I have horses and I like their warm, fuzzy winter coats that they grow to stay warm
  • No grass to mow or weeds to worry about for a few months
  • I love watching a fire burn and winter is the perfect time for heating your house with a wood stove
  • One of my favorite things is to slide into my jacuzzi while snow is falling, that’s near to perfect!
  • I enjoy the crunch, crunch of the newly fallen leaves under my feet when I go out for a walk
  • Holding a warm cup of coffee, tea or hot cider is comforting and makes me smile..

I guess you get the idea of how I’m trying to look at things differently, or at least focus on the positive side.  The times that it gets more difficult is after the Holidays, when all the rush and hustle is quieted down and I’m staring at 10 weeks of freezing weather ahead.  When the cold, gray clouds get socked in for a week and the sun seems like it took a vacation, that’s when it effects me the strongest!

I have also taken up cooking as a wintertime hobby.

I’ve never been much of a fan of  cooking. I love to eat, but cooking seems to be so never-ending once you get into it.  But I figure that when I can’t go outside and I’ve had all the TV and movies I can stand, that trying a new recipe that results in a yummy treat for the whole family has got to be a good thing!

So, I’ve been trying new recipes and a great resource is http://www.yourhomebasedmom.com/  Lots of fun and tasty things to discover with Leigh Ann!  Sour Cream Apple Bars were a big hit and taste amazing right out of the oven…

Another thing that I’ve been doing is a ritual to welcome the early evenings.  One of my least favorite things about winter are those darn short days!  It feels like a I just get started with everything and then, just like that, the sun sets and it’s cold and dark!   So! I decided to make the best of it and every evening just as the sun in sinking into horizon and the light is fading from the sky, I light several candles and turn on some fun dance music! I make my kitchen really cozy and happy then start an impromptu dance party.  It has really made a difference in changing my mindset from dreading the short days to enjoying the coming on of each evening.

Well, there you have it… my personal strategy for braving the coming winter and hopefully it has inspired you to think about the cold season a little differently.  Don’t feel badly if you don’t feel much better though, I have struggled with it for many years and just this year decided to strive for something different, a more positive mindset and happier outlook.

If you have anything to add to my above list of “ Happy Winter Things” , please leave a comment and share, I need all the input I can get!

 

Here’s to warmer thoughts and warmer toes and doing better at Embracing Winter!

Cheers,

Kristi

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kara Gagliano-Scott
    Dec 06, 2010 @ 17:32:26

    INSPIRING! I personally love winter. But I LOVE this reminder to think positive and create rituals and to be purposeful about things, little things that make ALL the difference…not only to us, but to those we love. My children love it when I take the time to dance, be silly and SHOW that I am enjoying life and THEM! As a single mom, too often I let the weight of all the responsibility dampen the joy and delight I REALLY have in doing all the monotenous duties that come with raising children….but NO MORE!
    Thanks for taking the time to post this!
    Iron sharpens iron…just by livin authentic and transparent lives!

    Reply

    • embracingyourlife
      Dec 06, 2010 @ 19:16:08

      Hi Kara, thx for posting a comment! So much fun to see my premier reader is enjoying my posts! lol No really, thx for your input, I was just feeling a little overwhelmed today by alot of effort and not alot of results, yet…. so your thoughts help me to push through!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

