Looking for Momentum

Looking for Momentum…

It’s a Sunday evening and I have to admit…I have totally neglected my blog for the past 25 days. That makes me feel badly, and then I have to ask myself why did I neglect it that long?

It mostly stems from the thought of “what’s the point?”, doubting myself and even more than that, just feeling overwhelmed at the learning curve I have when I look at how much I don’t know about blogging.

These are some of my thoughts, “Maybe I am doing it for the wrong reasons?”, ” Maybe I am just not dedicated enough?”.  Maybe… maybe I am just not sure.  But, I haven’t quit researching, reading other blogs and closing the learning gap, so I must still be in it, just not actively engaging in my blog.  I began to feel like I wasn’t sure that I was using the “right” thing, meaning WordPress.  There are so many to choose from and what if I’m putting all this effort into something that wasn’t right for me.   STOP! I tell myself, all those thoughts and questions are destroying my optimism and my motivation to keep moving forward.  So I stopped thinking and I started digging…looking for encouragement and help from others that are doing what I want to do.

I’ve realized that it doesn’t matter if it’s all “just” right, it matters that I’m doing something, taking action, practicing my writing, moving forward period.  I am still learning that failure is simply part of it and that it’s ok!

Failure is ok!

It doesn’t mean that I’m no good, that I will never succeed, that what I’m doing is worthless…it doesn’t mean any of that!  So, I’ve looked for encouragement and found it, I’ve talked to myself and said… “Let’s just keep doing it for the practice and just see where it goes.”, and then I read a blog post from http://www.chrisguillebeau.com yesterday that really encouraged me…

“So every day, I would focus on exactly that — creating something worth talking about, and then trying to get the word out wherever I could. Everything else is irrelevant, or at least subservient to those two strategies.

If you do that every day, then every day the work will get better and you’ll get better at promoting it. And sooner or later, momentum will kick in and you’ll be along for the ride with everyone else.”  Chris Guillebeau
So now I am back at it, encouraged, more knowledgeable and moving forward.  Thx Chris!

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

Selsey Life Boat Station

Compass Plant (Silphium laciniatum)

Squirrel in the undergrowth D50_9462.jpg

More Photos
