Savor the Flavor of Your Life

Savor the Flavor….

It’s been about a week since my last post and I don’t like going that long, but I have a valid reason. There was a death in the family, a car accident took the life of my daughter’s biological father last week and we have been in the throws of dealing with that death and the aftermath.

I know the picture of this post looks happy and colorful and may not seem to go with the theme of death,

but out of all of the sadness and pain over the past eight days I have gleaned a silver lining.  There is something about a death of someone closely connected to you that makes me want to live my life in a richer and more meaningful way.

This loss has snapped my reality into focus like nothing else ever has.  It has made me ponder and question so many things that I normally take for granted or even things that are just unpleasant to look at.  I’ve thot about my children, my loved ones, my time and how I use it, my purpose and what I will leave behind when it’s my time to go.

It’s made me want to savor the flavor of everyday I have, because my days…are numbered.

And I want to soak up, appreciate and make my time count, everyday count towards a meaningful existence and to leave some sort of positive, inspiring legacy when I am no longer here.  And that seems to be the next question, how will I do that, what does it look like?  I believe this blog is part of it, as writing it makes me take each day and harvest the lessons, thoughts and ideas from it and put it into a form, the written word, that can be passed on to others and hopefully bring hope, light and encouragement to all those who read it.

The sorrow has been real, still is very real.  I catch myself feeling so sad about the opportunities that will not be available for my daughter in the future, about how she and he were just beginning to know each other and make a real connection that they could build on.  But I know we have to come to terms with this tragic loss and somehow move forward and find a way to honor the memories and the life that was lived, somehow.

I don’t know all the answers to how this will happen or what it will look like yet, but I do that I can start, today, simply being thoroughly grateful for  each and every moment I have life and breathe in this body of clay and to look deeply for the little opportunities that cross my path daily to make my life, my family and my world a little better place because I am living in it.  I will savor the flavor…everyday.

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. embracingyourlife
    Nov 08, 2010 @ 01:01:09

    This is really good stuff Kristi! Keep up the great work. I love reading your writing and can’t wait to see what you put out there next!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

